Posted by: ChchCAN | August 26, 2011

Look what I made!

 

The other day I received these lovely boxes of vegies from a local lady.  And tonight I set about making the pumpkin recipe she had told me about…

Cube your pumpkin and put into a pot
Add around 200 ml of water (so the pumpkin won’t burn, but it’s not covered)
2 tbsp of soy sauce
2.5 tbsp of sugar
1 tbsp of mirin (optional)

Softly boil the pumpkin for about  tens, drain and serve.

Along with my pumpkin I had tuna and salmon sashimi (the first time I’d eaten sashimi at home), tofu (first time I’d had tofu at home), some beautiful corn and a ‘big boy’ bottle of Kirin to wash it all down.  おいしかった! (It was delicious!)

M described it as ‘like what a Japanese boy would eat for dinner’.

That song, ‘I think I’m turning Japanese’ has been stuck in my head most of the day…


What do you reckon?

Categories